2023 Elections: INEC Announces Bola Ahmed Tinubu As Winner Ahead Of Atiku, Peter Obi


The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwajo Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has been announced as the winner of the 2023 general eletion.

Bola Ahmed Tinubu becomes Nigerian president



In the early hours of Wednesday, Mahmood Yakubu, the chair of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), announced the results.


Yakubu said that Tinubu got 8,794,726 votes in total.


With 6,984,520 votes, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came in second, followed by Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP) with 6,101,533 votes.


“I now perform my responsibility as chief returning officer of the federation,” the INEC chair said.


“I, professor Mahmood Yakubu, hereby certify that I am the returning officer for the 2023 general election. The election was contested.


“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having certified the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned.”


Yakubu added that the issuance of the certificate of return to Tinubu will take place at 3pm on Wednesday.


See the full breakdown of the result below.


A – 61,014
AA – 14,542
AAC – 14,608
ADC – 81,919
ADP – 43,924
APC – 8,794,726
APGA – 61,966
APM – 25,961
APP – 12,839
BP – 16,156
LP – 6,101,533
NNPP – 1,496,687
NRM – 24,869
PDP – 6,984,520
PRP – 72,144
SDP – 80,267
YPP – 60,600
ZLP – 77,665

Spread the love

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button